Friday, May 24, 2013

Rod Stewart Time Album Review

Rod Stewart has spent four decades being a rock star, three being a parent, and has a new album's worth of stories to tell.  Time is his first album of new material in almost 20 years.  The album was born from a burst of inspiration that came while he was reviewing his life for his recent memoir.  "Suddenly ideas for lyrics were piling up in my head," he says. "Next thing I knew, I had a song called 'It's Over' about divorce and separation. And now I was getting up in the middle of the night and scrambling for a pen to write things down, which has never happened to me. I finished seven or eight songs very quickly and I still wasn't done, and it became apparent that I would eventually have a whole album of material to record."  Rod Stewart is starting his Live the Life tour in Europe on June 1st and will be in America starting October 17th.  
I had not really listened to Rod Stewart before receiving this album except for his songs that were on the radio.  Time definitely has the classic Rod Stewart sound.  I think it is great that he is back to writing new material after 20 years.  My favorite track was Pure Love.  It is such a sweet song and I had it stuck in my head for days. Time is available to purchase now on iTunes and Amazon.

Time Track Listing:
1. She Makes Me Happy
2. Can’t Stop Me Now
3. It’s Over
4. Brighton Beach
5. Beautiful Morning
6. Live The Life
7. Finest Woman
8. Time
9. Picture In A Frame
10. Sexual Religion
11. Make Love To Me Tonight
12. Pure Love

This is a review post sponsored by One2One Network. I was provided a copy of the album for my review and I am entered in a prize drawing. All opinions shared are my own.

No comments: