Friday, August 16, 2013

Court Yard Hounds Amelita Review

Amelita is the second album from sisters Emily Robinson and Martie Maguire of the band Court Yard Hounds. They were both previously members of the band Dixie Chicks.  “We’re a band, not a side project. We like our sound, and we’re going to continue to do this, and share something new this time around,” said Robison.   

After a few years away from the limelight and the Dixie Chicks, the two sisters were ready to get back into the studio.  Amelita has 11 new tracks and a new perspective than their debut album in 2010, which is due in part to time passed since Robison’s divorce. “I’ve been freed of all of those time-heals-everything kind of things,” says Robison. “Now, I’ve opened up to other ideas and ways of looking at life and the world. I think it’s not only a more hopeful album, but it’s more… well fun."

"I love this band...the way we explore new aspects of ourselves and what we can expect from each other, both musically and as people," says Martie. "We are close. Plus, being on the road and being in the studio is like my spa from the everyday challenges of just being a mom.

The Court Yard Hounds’ new album is a clear statement of who the girls are as artists, defining their sound as a band, with soaring songs that are personal, yet familiar and widely relatable.

I had never heard of Court Yard Hounds before receiving the album to review.  It has a beautiful and rich sound and since they are sisters you can hear that they have a deep connection and history.  My favorite tracks are Aimless Upward, Gets You Down and The Road You Take.  They all sound likes songs that would have been featured on the T.V. show Dawson's Creek.  If the show was still in production, I have a feeling that Court Yard Hounds would have been featured regularly.

Amelita is available to purchase now on iTunes or Amazon.

Amelita Track Listing:
  1. Sunshine
  2. Amelita
  3. The World Smiles
  4. Aimless Upward
  5. Guy Like You
  6. Rock All Night
  7. Phoebe
  8. Divided
  9. Gets You Down
  10. Watch Your Step
  11. The Road You Take

This is a review post sponsored by One2One Network. I was provided a copy of the album for my review and I am entered in a prize drawing. All opinions shared are my own.

No comments: